Help Center

Diablo 4 Skill Tree Guide Talent Point and Specializations and Paragon System

Diablo 4 skill

Skill Tree  Game Interface



The image below illustrates the structure of the skill tree

All classes share the same skill tree structure, but the difference lies in the types and effects of the skills within.


Talent clusters in the game require prerequisites and a certain number of talent points to unlock. The skill clusters are arranged from top to bottom as follows:


Basic Skill Cluster: These skills have no cooldown and no resource cost. They are typically used to fill gaps in damage output, restore resources (such as mana, energy, or rage), or synergize with specialization and core skills to increase damage. They scale with weapon attack speed.

Unlocking Condition: Requires 0 prerequisite talent points.


Core Skill Cluster: These skills serve as the primary damage-dealing abilities. They have resource costs. Non-channeled core skills do not scale with weapon attack speed, while channeled core skills do scale with attack speed (such as Whirlwind). This is a general analysis, as some exceptions may require individual analysis.

Unlocking Condition: Requires 2 prerequisite talent points.

Specialization Skill Cluster: These skills specialize in support, damage amplification, mobility, crowd control, and defense, depending on the design of each class.

Unlocking Condition: Requires 6, 11, and 16 prerequisite talent points.


Ultimate Skill Cluster: These skills are considered ultimate abilities. Players can choose only one. They have cooldowns and cannot be used frequently, but cooldown reduction can be achieved through equipment and other skill combinations.

Unlocking Condition: Requires 23 prerequisite talent points.


Ultimate Passive Skill Cluster: Players can choose only one ultimate passive skill. It is typically used in conjunction with core skills.

Unlocking Condition: Requires 33 prerequisite talent points (Beta version has a level 25 restriction and cannot unlock the ultimate passive skill).


Talent points can be allocated to active skills and passive effects. Active skills are represented by large nodes, while passive effects are represented by small nodes (except for ultimate passives, which are also represented by large nodes).


Passive effects can be further categorized into two types:

Type 1: Passive effects that follow active skills, as indicated by the green boxed area in the diagram.

These passive effects specialize and enhance active skills, providing additional effects to the active skills.


Type 2: Passive points with independent effects, as indicated by the red box in the image below.

These points generally affect global effects, such as increasing percentage-based health, critical strike chance, and so on.




Explanation of Skill Damage Details:

For basic skills and core skills, the formula for calculating skill damage is: Skill Damage = Weapon Damage * Skill Percentage Effect, which is displayed in the skill description.

Please note that this calculation applies only to basic skills and core skills.

If other skills also have a similar percentage display, the principle remains the same.

However, if there is no percentage display and instead a direct numerical value is shown, then the damage of that skill is derived from the skill itself.



Acquiring Talent Points and Paragon System:

Before level 50, the character gains 1 talent point for every level gained.

Exploring the open world grants around 15 talent points.

A total of 65 talent points are available (there may be some debate regarding the open world portion, but it generally falls within the range of 60-65 points).

After reaching level 50, the character gains 4 Paragon points for each level gained.

Paragon points are not used in the skill tree but are instead used in the Paragon system, as shown in the image below.


As the beta testing has not yet opened the apex level, based on the information collected so far, I can provide a brief overview of the Paragon gameplay.

The leftmost glyphs are obtained through map farming and can be inserted into the Paragon board. They contain various attribute effects.


The area above the glyphs is where the character's current total attributes and Paragon points are displayed.

The middle area is the Paragon Board, where players allocate their talent points.

The blue numbers 1-2 highlight two sections of the Paragon Board.

Based on current information, the entire talent disk consists of 8 such large sections.

The white boxed area represents the connecting region between the two sections of the Paragon Board.

The green boxed area represents the default small, medium, and large talent points in the talent disk.

The blue boxed area represents the rune slots in the talent system, where runes can be socketed. The image provided already shows runes being socketed.

Runes can affect the surrounding talent points, potentially enhancing or altering them, similar to Eternal Jewels in Path of Exile (speculation).

There is also a search box in the upper right corner for players to conveniently locate key attribute positions within the range.

Specialization System:

Diablo 4 has designed 2-3 specializations for each class, which are independent of the talent skills.

Players can choose suitable specializations to further strengthen their build, and some specializations may have specific requirements for the build's playstyle.

Have more questions?